Friday, April 16, 2010

Kaiji : The Ultimate Gambler

TITLE: KAIJI : THE ULTIMATE GAMBLER

RELEASED: 8TH APRIL 2010

TAGLINE: WILL YOU RISK YOUR LIFE TO CLEAR OFF THE DEBT
THAT YOU NEVER TAKE? WILL YOU TAKE THE CHANCE?

SYNOPSIS:

"Kaiji : The Ultimate Gambler" is adopted from a famous manga with the same title by Nobuyuki Fujimoto which had sold 11 million copies is about a 26 year-old man, Kaiji (Tatsuya Fujiwara of 'Death Note' fame) who found himself in a huge debt that he himself didn't know or even took the loan itself. Surprised, he found out that it was his friend who took the loan and Kaiji was eventually his guarantor!

To erased off this huge debt of his friend that went missing soon after that, he had no choice but to take an offer to enter a deadly gambling competition aboard a cruise ship which will cost him his life any moment.

Only 3 round of games and his debt contract will be terminated but it won't be easy..... To fight for his own life, he has to gamble a high stakes, to win back his normal life - he has to win it......

MY VIEW AFTER WATCHING IT:

If you think borrowing from loan sharks is already a worst case scenario that can happen? Think again because this rich and good for nothing people are even more sick! Saying that they can help but actually with a risk consequences - you can't pay it, play 3 rounds of game and the debts are history.

Of course these rich people is not gonna go easy on them and each games will erase you off from this earth for good without leaving a trace behind! Thinking of borrowing from a loan shark? Think twice again!

This movie was quite fun to watch and has a sense of something new. Besides, this storyline has a great motivation, moral value and lessons to learn about. Think - "To borrow is easy but paying back is hard"

Only thing is that - I somehow just hate some boring progressive stories because this movie is quite boring, leaving only a handful best part to watch and then boring scene again then best part - repeating the same process over and over again.

PROS:

  • Quite educational a bit and moral value to remember on
  • Exciting actions
  • Japanese manga!

CONS:

  • Slow progressive and boring starts
  • Repeated used of boring scene then actions over and over again
  • Again yet, japanese always just love to turned manga into a real life movie......

RATINGS:

I just love movies that came from Japan be it animation or movie but not all anime manga can make into a real life movie and struck gold with it. I would somehow rather stick movie with movie and manga with manga.

A passable 3/5 stars - Good storyline but keep on using manga for a movie production is just too
repeating sometimes.....

Shutter Island

TITLE: SHUTTER ISLAND

RELEASED: 5TH MARCH (US) & 15TH APRIL
(MAL)

TAGLINE: NONE

SYNOPSIS:

'Shutter Island' was set in 1954, where US Marshall Teddy Daniels (Leonardo DiCaprio) were assigned to investigate a mysterious murder - said to have connection to a patient who escaped from a highly surveillance hospital for the criminally insane and has been hiding on a remote island called Shutter Island.

During the process of his investigation, more and more mysterious things began to surfaced resulting him to investigate further knowing it might cost his own life or even more paranoid.

To understand the situation even more, he himself set sail to the island itself where he found out that there are more than meets the eye. The mental hospital was said to reside 66 patients, but someone or something told him that there is a mysterious and unknown patient, 'the 67th'. But the doctors strongly claimed that the attendance is still 66 - no more or less and most of them grew suspicious towards Teddy, he might be suffering from past painful memories and illusional..... Is he the one who the stranger claimed - 'the 67th'?

MY REVIEW AFTER WATCHING:

Watching the cinema preview really does boost your interest in wanting to watch 'Shutter Island' even more but watching the movie itself tells the story a bit different. Honestly, I am not saying that the movie is a dull and boring not worth watching - it is interesting to watch actually only that the storyline progressing way too slow!

Maybe it is just the way how Martin Scorsese style of direction, I guess. The beginning was fine and slowly progressing, letting us wait for the best part. He (Martin Scorsese) can be quite a spoiler sometimes because he just drag a scene quite long enough to keep us waiting and waiting and waiting until we are sick of waiting or just simply go to the toilet for a break and come back and hey guess what? The best part has yet to come!

Anyway, the best part of it - is only towards the end. Where all answers are being answered and you yourself might be shocked to find out the truth about the climax (watch yourself! I won't tell) and Leonardo does collaborate well and much better since his last encounter with Martin in 'The Departed' (Hollywood version of Hong Kong's hit 'The Internal Affair")

PROS:

  • Suspense and mysteries that keeps you glued on your seat
  • Mad men, paranoids and illusions
  • Very very dark and deep storyline

CONS:

  • Wait too darn long through all the suspense and waiting.... It's a pain!
  • Conversations, long dialogue, over dragged scene with even much more dialogues!!!!
  • Deep storyline means you have to think whose responsible in the scene (didn't watching movies suppose to be a relaxing activities???)

RATINGS:

Suspense and scary is cool but too overload can be boring and pain, I am neither love nor hate this movie but I can admit I enjoy the movie a bit - not much. Just that I hate sitting in a cinema listening to long talks and stuff or I'll just doze off and irritate other people in the theatre. Maybe I just don't understand the great Martin Scorsese way and philosophy of making this movie and who knows, you might enjoy this movie more than I do.....

3.5/5 stars for great suspense and scare but way too long to wait for the best part to come.....

How To Train Your Dragon

TITLE: HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON

TAGLINE: NONE

RELEASED: 26TH MARCH 2010

SYNOPSIS:

Hiccup, a son of a Chief Viking village and leader of the Dragon Hunter Clan always wanted to impress his people and makes his father proud but things not always seems right for him because he (Hiccup) can't wield a sword nor a battle ax like a warrior and always gives trouble to the villagers and embarassed his father with crazy inventions and machines - claiming able to kill or hunt down dragons NOT!!!

One night, a bunch of dragons wreak havoc in the village and every vikings doing their part to stick their blade on a dragon's thick scale skin but not Hiccup under a direct strict order from his chief father to stay behind the line and repair and sharpening viking's weapon for killings.

As always, Hiccup being stubborn and brought along his invention and sucessfully shot down a mysterious dragon claimed by many 'as fast as a thunder and as dark as nightsky' - the Night Fury Dragon but no one believes and he sets out alone into the forest in search of it while his father out sailing with other warriors to the dragon's lair to end everything.

Hiccup found it but was unable to lay hands on it and thus released it free but can't fly away because of it's damaged tail. Hiccup actually cared for it and named him Toothless. Before leaving the village, his father actually placed him under the care of his trusted friend - a blacksmith and a mentor to Hiccup to train him to be a Dragon Killer but Hiccup had a potential to be a dragon tamer more than slaying them after spending freetimes with Toothless.

Will he be what his father always wanted him to be or will he break the code and all odds between the vikings and the dragons?

MY REVIEW AFTER WATCHING:

When it comes to animation movies, I always enjoyed best from Japanese anime manga, Disney's Pixar and Dreamworks Anime Pro. The latest flick by Dreamworks Production, 'How To Train Your Dragon' is a fun and laughable animation from the desk of producer from 'Madagascar' and 'Shrek'.

At first sight of it's preview months ago, I have this mixed feeling of whether to watch it or not (my interest was only 50-50 at the time) knowing it might another same old funny jokes and father and son relationship kinda feelings like other anime done by Dreamworks (if you didnt notice, Dreamworks anime stories used the same concept of 'father and son' in every animation production). Because out of movies to watch that time, I finally decided to go for it and watch.

The storyline, actions and feelings, I don't dare to say is boring nor awesome but just simply fun and quite relaxing to watch throughout the hour. I am not sure whether I got the jokes or am I tired or there's no sense of humor in me because throughout the movie, I didn't laugh at all while others are laughing! But I does enjoy watching it though.

In the end, I would still give it a go for it for 'HTTYD'. It is still fun to watch and yet I couldn't laugh it out.

PROS:

  • Entertaining yet laughable
  • It's cool to watch with family together as it has 'the father and son relationship' and family type of moral values to take home with
  • Makes you to take up a habit of owning a pet (minus the dragon, of course)

CONS:

  • Not worth the money to watch it on 3-D actually (no feelings of realistics)
  • Sometimes just quite sick and tired of the same old storyline concept of 'father and son relationship' kinda animation
  • Eventhough the jokes still can be digest on, I just hope there will be more funnier jokes to hear or see rather than the old school repeats (personal opinions)

RATINGS:

ddAt the end of the day after watching 'HTTYD', everyone will be bringing a smile on their face out of the cinema theatre - including me. Entertaining yet the same old style and we never get tired of it (most of them). Still watchable and worthy but not quite fancy the same idea over and over again. A slight passable rating from me - 3.5 out of 5 stars....

3.5/5 star ratings for worthy watching still but yet again same old school entertainment.

Just Another Pandora's Box

TITLE: JUST ANOTHER PANDORA'S BOX

TAGLINE: "GOT COOL TIL IT'S 'IN', GOT 'IN' TIL IT'S
COOL
."

RELEASED: 18TH MARCH 2010

SYNOPSIS:

A bandit, Jack (Ronald Cheng Zhung Kei) makes a living by robbing by passers, businessman, riders etc until his life changed after a fairy cum swordswoman, Rose fell on top of him in search for a man she is bound to marry under one condition - the man must be able to pull out her sword of destiny out from her.

Out of the blue, he accidentally pulled out her sword 3 times, resulting Jack and Rose had a cat and mouse chase around the world (yes, around the world)....

During the chase, Rose fell down while chasing him and dropped a black box - Pandora's Box which he used it to run away from her to another dimension. Thinking that he escaped from her, but not knowing that this is only the beginning of his journey through hell. He landed into the land of war age state, the land where extinct monster eats human as meal and even the land where fairies and demons resided etc.

To make matter worst, she who madly fell in love with him catches up wherever he goes with different disguises to make him fall in love with her! Will Jack be able to escape from her or be a victim of her love?

MY VIEWS AFTER WATCHING:

I not really interested any or fan of Ronald Cheng's any movies, I only watched because my friends invite me to so mind as well sit through the whole movie to entertain them and I know that each and every of Ronald's movie is included vulgar and sexual genre in it.

But, I can't deny also that I got 'entertained' a bit by all that lame humours and silly things. Somehow, I think that it only works for a while because more lame and weird mixture of different movies started making up one *ahem* maybe below C- grade movie (you can guess how bad it is)....

Why you say? Because this movie is actually a reenactment of different movie background into
a single compilation movie ala 'Scary Movies' series, 'Meet the Spartans' or 'A Date Movie' etc by the Wayan Brothers style!!! If you watch 'JAPB', you will remember some great movies like 'The Red Cliff 1 & 2', 'Journey To The West', 'Kung Fu Hustle', 'Kung Fu Panda' and even 'Titanic' fell victim to this movie!!!

In a nutshell, 'JAPB' will also entertain you with great actors and actresses collision course line up to entertain you! The casting of 'JAPB' doesn't have main characters (including Ronald) nor supporting character or side-cast members, for they just came together to make one hell of a good lame jokes out for entertainment.

PROS:

  • Still enjoyable to watch and laugh - FOR A WHILE ONLY
  • Lots of our favourite actor and actresses starred in this movie
  • Combos of famous and great movie scenes combined in one

CONS:

  • Too much vulgar words and sexual obscenity talks/actions
  • Lame jokes lasted only a few minutes and got sick and tired out of it easily
  • Chinese historical events but some scenes speaking in English?!?!?! (whaaaaaaattttt!!!!)

RATINGS:

Got entertained but not for long. I just feels like it is not the right type of tea for me eventhough I does enjoy watching comedy, it is just that this one too exaggerated, lame and totally out of logic field for me.... I only can rate it a passable score of 3 out of 5 stars.

3/5 stars rating for a 'moment entertainment' and laughs only.....

Thursday, April 15, 2010

BEING HUMAN

TITLE: BEING HUMAN

TAGLINE: "GOOD OR WICKED IS NOT BY
CHANCE, BUT BY CHOICE."


RELEASE: 4TH APRIL 2010

SYNOPSIS:

Mai Wei aka My Way (Mark Lee Guo Wang) was a sucessful top sales agent for a beauty and diet products but he was on an edge of being fired by his two husband and wife employer because My Way uses his own way or dirty tricks to sell off products by telling lies and not think of others but fast and easy money.

After leaving his previous company, My Way opened his own beauty and diet products company, MyWay Corp. but things don't seem to go his ways as he keep thinking that his ex-employers are always on his way and keep challenging each other to see who is the best in beauty and diet products.

To add frustration to his problems, his wife who is a kindergarten teacher always wanted a child but can't consumed any eventhough married for 8 years and will desperately use any forms, medicines and ways to make herself pregnant with My Way.

One day, he plotted a dirty scheme to make his ex-employers pay for everything. At this very moment, his inner self (played by Nono) keeps holding him back to prevent any further suffering caused upon himself but failed instead keeps on blaming others for everything.

To fight with his ex-employers to the death, he planned a new method of diet for the obese societies without thinking of their safety and health until all of them diagnosed with liver cancer after consuming My Way's products......

MY VIEW AFTER WATCHING:

Eventhough Jack Neo's name and popularity had been tarnished and shamed after his sex scandal been exposed having relationships with several Singapore female artiste and rising stars, I've said before to restrained myself from watching his movie for a while until his issue had cool off but somehow I can't resist a good movie especially since Jack Neo is one of my favourite director/actor besides Zhang Yimou, Wilson Ip Wai-shun, Benny Chan etc.

Honestly after watching this movie, I think Jack had already make his apologies and wrong doings to the public (watch and you will know what I meant, don't want to be a spoiler...). Eventhough Jack's usual theme and concept throughout all his movies are the same - comedy begins first and drama ends second, I somehow never grew old of his same old genre style!

'Being Human' eventhough like his previous famous movies under his belt to name a few like 'Where Got Ghost?', 'Money Not Enough 1 & 2', 'I Not Stupid 1 & 2' to name a few is another movie capturing the lifestyle and happenings in our society, I somehow can't stop myself laughing silly throughout the movie and demand for more!

In summary, 'Being Human' really does worth a watch for everyone - be it young and old. Just make sure you bring enough tissue to cry on when the movie reaching it's climax. This movie might also change your negative view towards Jack as well only I hope that his movie genre could be better and plot twisting besides his new genre - Hor-medy (horror + comedy) rather than the same old repeating genre, minus the comedy......

PROS:
  • Great story and moral value to chew on
  • More and greater laughters
  • More mixed Singaporean accents, 'rojak' English and Hokkien language laughter

CONS:
  • Just another same old story line where comedy takes over first then sad tragic later
  • Another 'laugh and cry' movie production by Jack Neo
  • Enjoyable only afraid will bored of watching the same old thing from Jack Neo

RATINGS:

Laughters and sadness balanced, another highlighted of what's happening to our societies nowaday, more and more laughter which we enjoy most from Jack Neo - I think I will rate it a solid 4 out of 5 stars.....

4/5 stars rating for 'Human Being' - enjoyable comedy for everyone, miss the movie - IT'S YOUR LOSS!!!

Clash of the Titans


CLASH OF THE TITANS

TAGLINE: - TITANS WILL CLASH
- DAMNED THE GODS


OPENED: 2nd APRIL 2010

SYNOPSIS:

The story of Perseus (Sam Warthington) the Demi - God, born of Zeus - God of Olympus and King among the Gods who set sail on a journey to the Underworld to stop Hades' creation (or preferably child made of his own blood), The Kraken.

Zeus were tricked into condemning The Argos civilization by Hades after they (Argos) stopped worshipping the Olympian Gods and start praising and worshipping their own earthly self proclaimed king and this case has angered Zeus.

When Zeus finally discovered Hades' plan, he sent his Demi - God son, Perseus to settle the score for the Gods made a rules that "whoever Gods are not permitted to overthrow one another power - BUT not their son"........

MY REVIEW AFTER WATCHING:

Firstly, I was very eager to watch this movie when I first saw it's preview screening in the cinema but when the time comes to watch it, I feel like being cheated by the movie itself! The beginning presentation of the movie was greatly attractive - the narration history of the Olympian Gods on how they overthrown their own father, Kronos until the day baby Perseus was born, grew up and destined to be a hero inspired by his step father's saying, "One day, someone gonna make a stand for this and one day, somebody gonna say ENOUGH!"

Secondly, I felt boring sitting through the movie til it ends because it doesn't consist much of Titans fighting or action or clashing etc!!! It's just about Perseus walking into a no man's land or a danger zone fighting off normal monsters!!! Not much of Titans action (really!) and just hear couple of his men cracking some old Greek lame jokes on each other....

Thirdly, the only enjoyment of the movie is where the famous story telling of the great Perseus who slained Medusa the snake-haired lady and NOT THE EPIC BATTLE BETWEEN PERSEUS AND THE KRAKEN!!! (yes, believe it....). Why? Simple - because when the Kraken appears for about 5 minutes++, start a make over for the Argos city etc.... Suddenly, Perseus came down riding the Black Pegasus and shunned Medusa's head at Kraken and it petrified, cracked and down it goes into the deepest depth of the ocean (with Hades) -THE END- (yes..... that's the story folks!)

Lastly, all I can say is - I rather spent a few ten ringgits to search for and buy the classic 1981 'Clash of the Titans' to watch everyday for it is still way much better than this revived version and way much more Titan actions..... Bad move made by Legendary Pictures ('300' fame) eventhough the presentation and setting was cool but lack way lot of Titan actions and doesn't really follows Perseus life story....

PROS:

Cool and great beginning presentation of story telling (narration)
Great setting and reallistic

CONS:

Lack too many Titan actions and more one man hero action
Too many changes and not exactly the story of Perseus
Every single fight scene ended too quickly and more dialogue conversations.....

RATING:

Not to say I don't enjoy it but it is just quite disappointing to wait so long and watch such boring Perseus walking here and there and exterminate those monsters (not Titans and where is the ever famous story of Perseus, the child Titan of Rhea, Atlas and it's 3 Golden Apple Daughter Guardians?!?!), for this, I only will give 2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5/5 star ratings - for not enough actions and making another 'set' of Perseus story up!!!

And I rather download it's cinema preview from Youtube and watch it a million times because it's preview is way much better than it's movie!!!! (Honestly!)